Jesus Helps Us With Our Problems (Preschool)

Scripture: Mark 5

Date Used: April 18, 2010

Theme: Woman Who Touched Jesus’ Garment

Author/Arranged by: Teresa Klassen

Age: Preschool

Ten Little Ideas of things to do

  • In any order – just pick which things seem to work on Sunday.
    You may do just a couple of things, or maybe you will do them all!

1.            Free time

2.            DVD of Jesus healing people

There are several good healing stories in the Read N Share DVD series (excellent for Preschoolers). I will post any other videos I find as I find them

3.            Re-tell the story (with flashcards)

Card One:

The Bible tells us that there was a lady who was very sick.
Every day she was sick.
There weren’t any doctors who could make her better.

Card Two:

The lady knew that Jesus could make her better.

Even if she could just touch him, she knew that he could make her better.

Card Three:

The lady found Jesus. She touched his clothes.

Jesus said, “Who touched my clothes?”

The lady said, “I did.”

Card Four:

Jesus said because you came to me with your sickness, now you are all better!

And the lady was all better!
She was so happy and so thankful to Jesus.

4.            Will Jesus help me?

This is an “acting out” activity. Invite them to come and “pretend” with you.

Teacher asks:             Will Jesus help us when we are very sad? Can you show me a sad face? (Have the children act out a sad face)

Yes, Jesus says he will help us when we are sad

Teacher asks:            Will Jesus help us when we are afraid? Can you make an “afraid” face (Have the children act out being afraid)

Yes, Jesus says he will help us when we are afraid

Teacher asks:            Will Jesus help us when we are sick? Can you look like you are sick? (Have the children act as if they are sick)

Yes, Jesus says he will help us when we are sick.

Teacher asks:            Will Jesus help us when we want to understand his words in the Bible? Can you pretend you are reading the Bible? (Have them act out opening up a book and reading it)

Yes, Jesus says he will help us understand his words in the Bible.

Teacher asks:            Will Jesus help me to be loving? What does it look like to be loving (Have the children act out giving themselves or a friend a hug)

Yes, Jesus says he will help me to be loving.

5.            Simple craft

Using the coloring page of the woman touching Jesus’ garment, use the cut-out piece of cloth/felt to glue on to the picture (Jesus’ cloak) and remind the children how the woman had a problem – she was sick – but she went to Jesus with her problem and he healed her.

6.            Bible memory: We are memorizing Proverbs 3:5

  • Hold up one hand and say: “let’s pretend this is God’s hand”
  • Hold up your other hand and say: “and this is your hand”
  • Put your two hands together and say: “when I put my hand in God’s hand, that is trust

Now do the Bible verse with that action starting you off:

  • Trust (two hands together like a handshake)
  • In Jesus (point up)
  • With all (arms out wide)
  • Your heart (put your two hands over your heart)

7.            Snack

8.            I can talk to Jesus about my problems (activity)

  • Remind the children that Jesus cares about us. Jesus always listens to us. He cares about the problems we have. He cares about the problems little children have!
  • Have a picture of Jesus with his hands out
  • Have little pictures of problems a little child might have
  • Have the children line up and then show them a little picture of a problem and ask them, “Do you think Jesus cares when (explain the picture). Yes he does! He says, bring your problems to me.”
  • Then have the children put the problem in Jesus hand (put a dab of glue on each picture as they go up)

Problems might be: When I cry, When I have a sliver in my finger, When I have been naughty, When someone has not been nice to me, when I lose my dog, when I lose my cat, when I feel sick, when I am hungry, when I want someone to be my friend, when I don’t know how to tie my shoe, when….etc.

9.            Song (using the Action/Worship CD)

10.            Blessing

Teachers, I am asking that at the end of every lesson you have all the children sit quietly while you pray over them.  You do not have to use these words below…but they are from the bible and you could certainly add them to whatever you pray. Let us not miss the opportunity to impart a spiritual blessing on each child.

“I pray this blessing over each one of you.

Each of you is precious in God’s sight.

God sees you every minute of every day and he loves you.

I pray that you will come to know and love Jesus with all your heart for all your days.

May the Lord bless you and protect you.

May the Lord smile on you and be gracious to you.

May the Lord show you his favor and give you his peace.

Amen.”

Leave a Reply

