I want to love Jesus with ALL my heart (Rich Young Ruler)(Preschool Lesson)

Date Used: April 25, 2010

Scripture: Mark 10

Theme: Loving Jesus with ALL our heart

Written/Assembled by: Teresa Klassen

Ten Little Ideas of things to do

  • In any order – just pick which things seem to work on Sunday.
    You may do just a couple of things, or maybe you will do them all!

1.            Free time

2.            Tell the story of the Rich Young Man (with flashcards)

* I will scan the cards we used and include them when I am able to do that!

Card 1

There was once a rich young man who worked very hard to be good. He read about the things that God wanted him to do and he did them; and he was very good!

Card 2

He told Jesus, “See, I have been very good. Is there anything else I have to do?”

He thought that just by following a bunch of rules that he could please God.

Card 3

Jesus said to the young man, “Go and sell everything you have and give your money to the poor.”

The young man was very surprised when Jesus said this.

He had A LOT of money and he didn’t want to give it away.

Card 4

Jesus asked him to do this because he knew that the rich young man only loved Jesus with this little bit of his heart

Card 5

But he loved money with sooooooo much of his heart!!!!

He walked away from Jesus because he thought his money was more important than Jesus.

Card 6

We shouldn’t love Jesus with just a teeny tiny bit of our heart

Card 7

We should love Jesus with ALL our heart. Nothing is more important than Jesus.

3.         DVD

Explain to the children that in another story in the Bible there was a lady who gave Jesus everything. Show this DVD – you can show just the first part of the video if you like and then talk about how the lady gave everything – Read & Share Bible DVDs Vol. 4, story 9 (this will be very short)

4.            Activity – Giving all of ourselves to Jesus

Materials needed: playdough, a stand up figure of Jesus

Set up the tables so that the children all have a place around the table.  Have a leader at each table who will have a ball of play-dough. Have the figure of Jesus standing on the table near the helper.

Teacher says: Let’s make some little cookies with our playdough

Helper shows the children how to make little cookies with their playdough.

Teacher says: When you share with others, Jesus says it is like you are sharing with Him! What are some things we can share with others (let the children give ideas) Now, let’s bring all our cookies to Jesus

Teacher says: Let’s all make little hands out of playdough

Helper shows the children how to make little hands. Make a flat little piece of play dough, and then roll little pieces to make 5 fingers to stick on.

Teacher says: Jesus says that when we use our hands to be gentle to others, it is the same as being gentle to Jesus. What are ways we can be gentle with others? (Let the children share – things like, we can hug instead of hit, we can put our arm around someone who is sad, we can help someone up if they have fallen).  Now, let’s give our hands to Jesus.

Helper has the children bring their little hands to Jesus.

Teacher says: Let’s all make a smiling face out of playdough.

Helper shows the children how to make a flat piece of play-dough and then two little eyes and a smiling mouth.

Teacher says: When we say kind words to others with our mouth, Jesus says it is like we are saying kind words to him.  What are some kind words? (Let the children share) Now, let’s bring all our kind words to Jesus.

5.            Simple craft

You will have a page with two hearts on it: one little one and one big one. Under the little one the words will say “Do I love Jesus this much?” and under the big heart it says, “No! I love Jesus THIS much!”  Have the children color the little heart, and then fill the big heart with heart stickers.

6.            Bible memory:

We are memorizing Proverbs 3:5

  • Hold up one hand and say: “let’s pretend this is God’s hand”
  • Hold up your other hand and say: “and this is your hand”
  • Put your two hands together and say: “when I put my hand in God’s hand, that is trust

Now do the Bible verse with that action starting you off:

  • Trust (two hands together like a handshake)
  • In Jesus (point up)
  • With all (arms out wide)
  • Your heart (put your two hands over your heart)

7.            Snack

8.            What can I give Jesus? – Action Poem

* This is a rewrite of an older poem

What can I give Jesus? (hands out open as if you are asking a question)

As little as I am? (kids put their hands down low to show “little”)

I know what I can give Jesus!! (point finger up, like you have an idea, “ah ha!”)

I can give my hands! (have them put their hands out again)

What can I give Jesus? (hands out open as if you are asking a question)

I want to do my part (point to themselves)

I know what I can give Him!!  (point finger up, like you have an idea, “ah ha!”)

I will give my heart! (hands over heart)

9.            Song (using the Action/Worship CD)

10.            Blessing

Teachers, I am asking that at the end of every lesson you have all the children sit quietly while you pray over them.  You do not have to use these words below…but they are from the bible and you could certainly add them to whatever you pray. Let us not miss the opportunity to impart a spiritual blessing on each child.

“I pray this blessing over each one of you.

Each of you is precious in God’s sight.

God sees you every minute of every day and he loves you.

I pray that you will come to know and love Jesus with all your heart for all your days.

May the Lord bless you and protect you.

May the Lord smile on you and be gracious to you.

May the Lord show you his favor and give you his peace.

Amen.”

3 responses to “I want to love Jesus with ALL my heart (Rich Young Ruler)(Preschool Lesson)

  1. help! I can’t find your site. I love what I see and would like to look at more of your sunday school ideas.

    ann murray
    selma, alabama

    we need k, 1 curriculum about Jesus.

    • Hi Ann, my hosting company messed up…it should be up in a day or two. I haven’t really been updating it because I am on sabbatical :) But I will add to it in the future. Thanks for emailing by the way, I hadn’t noticed there was a problem!

Leave a Reply

